A Woman I Once Knew: Screening in NYC

As many of you, I am a big Rosalind Solomon fan.  I only found her work relatively recently and I experienced the same gamut of emotions as when I discovered Shirley Temple movies at age 8: the joy of the discovery and subsequent sadness when I discovered that Shirley Temple Black was 65 (at that time) and thus unavailable for play dates.  So I said to Rosalind when I first talked with her and she told me about her film, A Woman I Once Knew, “But I am just discovering your work. I don’t want to mediate your mortality!!!!!”  I know a bit close-minded and selfish, I am still a grasshopper yet.

Well, I’m a little older and emotionally prepared to handle it now. I’m going to try and get up for the screening of her film.  If you are in NYC and interested you can buy limited tickets now!

www.ticketweb.info

search: awomanionceknew

Visit www.rosalindsolomon.com

ROSALIND SOLOMON’S “A WOMAN I ONCE KNEW” WILL PREMIER AT THE

NEW YORK INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL ON JULY 23RD

NOT A BIMBO, SHE’S A CRONE!!!

Prominent photographer and octogenarian Rosalind Solomon’s 2010 work, A Woman I Once Knew, has been selected by the New York International Film Festival for its premier on July 23rd at 10:10 pm at Village East Cinemas.

This fantastic work explores a deep and sensual space.  It’s playful and surprising.  It blew me away”—Serena Jost

“Mysterious and ominous.  I love the movie.  I am delighted to have my music, “16” used in such a sensitive and Creative way”—Jason Eckardt

The crone is tormented. …Old, old, old.  Where will she go?  While she sleeps, unknown agents enter placing monitors and spy cameras everywhere.  She incants, she dances.  Traveling back in time, she finds herself in a boat on the Ganges River.

Rosalind Solomon’s photographs are in the collections of over 50 museums.  Her work is currently on view at MOMA in Pictures by Women: A History of Modern Photography (through March 2011).  She is represented by Bruce Silverstein, 535 W. 24th St., NYC.

One thought on “A Woman I Once Knew: Screening in NYC

  1. Pingback: La lírica soledad de una fotógrafa octogenaria | Punto de vista

Leave a comment