Consumed in National Geographic and other News from the Clip File

Tofu Dog, Playboy Playmate, Peta Protest, Capitol Hill, DC from the series Consumed is featured above, yeah that's right, Marty, Martin Parr's photo and underneath a photograph by Martin Roemers.

Tofu Dog, Playboy Playmate, Peta Protest, Capitol Hill, DC from the series Consumed is featured above, yeah that’s right, Marty, Martin Parr’s photo and underneath a photograph by Martin Roemers.

Well, it’s finally happened. Raab and Parr mano a mano in the pages of National Geographic for their story on food.  I admit, the man was an early influence, he taught me that the mundane was worthy photographic material, especially when combined with voice, the photographer’s.  He also taught me that I didn’t need to wait around for the right light thanks to this thing called flash, or lightning sticks as Steve and I call them.

natgeocover

At the time, it seemed that my world was inundated with black and white picture stories on the widows of the Varanasi, Burning Man, homeless pregnant teenage heroin addicts ie only the exotic and truly remarkable seemed worthy of the powers that be’s attention. Fuck the quotidian. At least that is how it felt at the time.  Now I sense much more versatility in the genre, even in “photojournalism.”  So I sleep easy nights now, with my lightning stick by my side, and the quotidian as my oyster.

Ok, so that image was made way back in 2010. More recent new work arrived in the mail the fabulous Garden & Gun magazine, who dispatched me to photograph wet plate photographer Lisa Elmaleh, who works on a series about American Folk, old time American music.  Hello, can we say dream job. Any kind of bluegrass, flat-footing and I am there.  She also has friends who bring in fresh raw oysters.  Dream job. Say it again.

So classy look how the clip arrived. I thought I was invited to a wedding.

gglabel

Ok, I lost the clip, but here are the selects from the fun day with Lisa, whose cabin in Paw Paw was a delight of visual treasures.

tablerunner-5 tablerunner-4 tablerunner-3 tablerunner-2 tablerunner-1

tablerunner-7

Lastly, noticed an old archive photograph of mine was also featured in the New Yorker to talk about the Rolling Stone UVA Rape story.

NewYorkerClip

So pretty happy with those two new pubs, National Geographic and The New Yorker, as well as an excellent road trip to Paw Paw to visit the very talented Lisa Elmaleh.

Here’s to 2015 starting off well for us all!

Leave a Reply

