GUP Portfolio Issue: Cholita

Peru ya me voy! In my heart I am already slurping down some conchas a la parmesana with good friends on the beach, well off the beach, apparently some people have prejudices against eating seafood alfresco.  I just received in the mail the latest issue of GUP magazine, the guide to unique photography brought to you from the Netherlands, which for their anniversary issue featured the portfolios of some of their favorite photographers.  I am happy to say that my work in progress, Cholita, was included among other portfolios by Erwin Olaf, Bieke Depoorter, Kadir van Lohuizen, Otto Snoek, Machiel Botman, Albert Watson, Pieter Hugo, Francesco Giusti, Stephan Vanfleteren, and Sohrab Hura. WOW.

Swamped with cookie-making, menu-planning, invoicing, website updates (or not), marketing, etc, I have relegated to the back-burner my upcoming trip to Peru in January. Thank you Erik, and all at GUP for fortifying and refocusing me so that I may keep up the long-distance race which ends (or does it begin again?) when I land at Jorge Chavez.

Cholita will be featured in various iterations this winter and spring:
SATURNALIA, Irvine Contemporary, Washington, DC, January 08 – February 12, 2011

THE CORRIDOR, Art Museum of the Americas, Washington, DC March 2011

ENFOCO 2011 PHOTO FELLOWSHIP SHOW, Brooklyn, New York, March 2011

Happy holidays to all!

 

Leave a Reply

