The Way We Live Now

It’s always nice when your long term ouevre finds new homes in magical places.  Dream clips would be the New Yorker fiction illustration, anything topical in Harper’s which is really for me the utmost of the utmost of found image illustration to concept. And I consistently love the art that goes with The New York Times magazine “The Way We Live Now,” front of the book piece.  Really that could be the title of a lot of our books and missions, the analyzing and processing of how we live now is really my raison d’être .  So I was thrilled to have an image from my Consumed series illustrate their piece, “Junking Junk Food.”

I love to see these treasure hunts come to life on the printed page.  For me, this is too-often more compelling than the literal transcription of events that occur on other pages.  But having recently discovered that my “N” status in the Myers Briggs personality test makes me one of 20 percent of the population that sees connections in things that 80 percent cannot correlate (thanks Lisa Hunter!) I am now understanding why so often the most banal picture (for me) wins.

I’m actually borderline INTJ and INFJ, either way, both have a habit of making connections, and I feel comfortable with both characterizations.

INFJ
Seek meaning and connection in ideas, relationships, and material possessions. Want to understand what motivates people and are insightful about others. Conscientious and committed to their firm values. Develop a clear vision about how best to serve the common good. Organized and decisive in implementing their vision.

INTJ
Have original minds and great drive for implementing their ideas and achieving their goals. Quickly see patterns in external events and develop long-range explanatory perspectives. When committed, organize a job and carry it through. Skeptical and independent, have high standards of competence and performance – for themselves and others.

If I had to hazard a guess, I’d say that the Ns rule the house at the NYT Magazine, Harper’s, and The New Yorker.  Thanks Luise! and also to the VERY charming Marvin O.

Leave a Reply

