Look Ma I Won!

The first time I won anything it was tickets to see the Bodeans at the 9.30 Club in Washington. A radio station called my home number and I answered (yes, before the dawn of time cell phones). Total fluke. I’ve won a few things since then, here and there, if honorable mentions were bridesmaids I’ve worn my share of pistachio flouncy dresses until I reached a point where I flat out refused to be a bridesmaid (sorry T!) and then my friends began, er, maturing to the point where they didn’t need to walk down the aisle with a calvacade of candy-colored confections accompanying them. But I digress, as always.

I just wanted to toot ye olde horn and say I won a great prize associated with being at Photo NOLA and being ranked by reviewers  and that was a portfolio of my Consumed series on PhotoEye. You like me, you REALLY like me.  (Sorry I could not resist. Noone under 35 will understand that quote anyway).

For those of you who don’t get PhotoEye’s newsletter it is a weekly fest of enticement: vintage and recent books, beautiful work from people I am unfamiliar with. But be forewarned, it got my shopping demons hopping, and I was tempted and succumbed. More than once.  And PhotoEye if you are listening, I am still waiting for my Martin Chambi! Apurate!

There are many ways to get your work out there, and I feel sometimes that I spend more time disseminating the work then producing it, but sometimes these little gifts come your way and fortify the soul. (Free portfolios and accompanying press releases that make me feel validated)  I LONG for the day when I can just produce and produce and it magically goes out there, but I think that day might not arrive, I am certainly not entitled to that.  Being a photographer and being able to make a living doing what you LOVE (tho I would be lying if I said I LOVED every assgnment, but that is my point of departure) is such a gift when I see so many other people I know really just working, and not enjoying it so much.  Thus one must accept all the naughty bits, because if it wasn’t drudgery than even more people would be photographers and we all know the horror of THAT.  So all I can tell you is enjoy the process.  Even the part  where you are just sitting on your potatoes putting the work out there.  You are the best advocate for your work.  Be a gracious steward of it.  And when it works out for you toot your horn and let me know.

10 thoughts on “Look Ma I Won!

  1. Excellent work and congratulations! Things like this give me hope. Your last paragraph was honest and true. A good reminder to all of us to be grateful for this “job” and not analyze every win and loss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

