“There is Really No Difference between an Andy Warhol Brillo Box and a Brillo Box”

Have you seen “My Kid Could Paint That?” It is a fascinating and complex tale of 4 year-old artiste Marla Olmsted whose abstract oil paintings sell for thousands of dollars. I took the title of this post from the extra commentary with NY Times critic Michael Kimmelman which is really not to be missed as he deconstructs what is art and to whom very neatly. From which I take it to mean is that one could be just as happy with the brillo soap box as the warhol if there is virtual nil difference.
mykid
Anyway, MKCPT, is a fascinating tale, that had me taken quite for a loop, and foregrounds all these complex issues with fame, childhood, art, underage labour etc etc. I, for one, am grateful, that though I am also the proud mum of a savant genius, our pilot of “My Dog Took that Picture” never became a full-fledged reality show.
Check it out and let me know what you think: Did she or didn’t she?

2 thoughts on ““There is Really No Difference between an Andy Warhol Brillo Box and a Brillo Box”

  1. Dear Susana,

    I believe you will find equal interesting a documentary made by PBS concerning the not very known “southern art”.
    This documentary, which it happens I just have seen, it opened my eyes a lot.
    If is your interest, please look under the name “Mr. Dial has something to say”, the story of Thornton Dial and some others african american artist livingo on the south.

    best,

    Martin Morante

    Like

Leave a Reply

