August & Everything After

I met many new friends last week at the A Photo A Day annual gathering, and it became much more than an opportunity to augment my fledgling facebook friends list (a friend just created an account for me, as I kick and scream – deadly afraid of overexposure I guess! (ha!)). While I am an adventurous person, I really enjoy being at home, and it’s hard to fight the ennui sometimes to move one’s butt out of the door for the self-assignments and such, but 9 times out of 10 I am glad I did. I have come back inspired and full of these ideas for photo and film! projects. One subtext of the conference is the reorganization of newspaper and news outlets, the emphasis on multimedia, a modality that still does not compensate for all the time and effort needed to create new work. It’s kind of like the Wild West, and everyone is scrambling to learn to use this new media, but a lot of us really don’t know why or to what purpose. “Who are all these people clicking on slideshows all day?” We are all scratching our heads.

Speaking of multimedia, Melissa fortuitously just completed a 6 month project on a girl who was found sequestered in a closet for most of her life, living in a feral state. She collected audio for the piece and it was given fantastic display by the St. Pete Times. You can check it out here.

I am out of commission all this week and weekend with a glut of unexpected but welcome assignments, the website redesign and new zine launch will wait. Desperately needed is a stay-cation – to unplug, unhook, relax take a time-out from photography. Like sun-blindness all this unmitigated looking and processing can dull one’s vision. I hope you all can find the time to recharge in the coming weeks as well.

The Victors and the Vanquished, US Capitol, Washington, DC © Susana Raab

Leave a Reply

