Art for Life at the Whitman Walker Clinic

Chinese New Year Parade, Washington, DC 2003

Chinese New Year Parade, Washington, DC 2003

In an effort to redeem myself for my shameless pandering I wanted to post an opportunity for Mid-Atlantic artists to gain exposure for their artwork and pay it forward to a good cause. The annual Art for Life auction for the Whitman Walker Clinic has raised over one million dollars over the past 15 years which supports programs for the Latino community. Contributing artists get two free tickets to the event held in October at the beautiful Organization for American States building.

This year black and white photographer extraordinaire Tom Wolff tells me that he will be having a show from Spain in the ’70s up at the OAS at the same time, so it’s a two-fer. It’s a white-knuckle ride of terror to see your work get auctioned off; the shame if no one is interested, the ecstatic joy if there is a bidding war. I was lucky that last year, my first, my photograph of the Chinese New Year Parade in Washington, DC sparked quite a furor and fetched a handsome price, much to my surprise (I don’t think I’m alone in admitting that I function from a deep-seated fear of failure). This year I plan to donate something from my Southern writers’ series.

All work must be framed and ready to hang, have a maximum preferred dimension of 48″, and have a minimum starting value of $400. In return you’ll receive two free tickets to the event, a listing in the exhibition catalog, a couple catalogs for you to keep, and permission to be sanctimonious for one night. You can donate online here.

Leave a Reply

