What’s on your nightstand?

William Faulkner’s Bedside Table, Oxford, MS 2007

William Faulkner’s Bedside Table, Oxford, MS 2007

Despite my beloved’s and my newfound obsession for “The Wire” which has glued us to our tv and furiously checking our netflix cue to make sure that returns have been logged in a timely fashion – a situation that makes me frankly uncomfortable and worthy of help from Bill W., i’ve managed to down a few books worth mentioning.

I’ve just re-read Hemingway’s “A Moveable Feast” which recounts nearly forty years later his time in Paris in the 1920’s (with juicy tidbits concerning Scott Fitzgerald and Gertrude Stein). Warning: Do not read this when hungry or thirsty. Papa had me reaching for the glass of port at midday with all this talk about delicious wines and cheap Portugaise oysters. You learn a lot about Hemingway’s work ethic and personal ethos regarding selling out, with which I commiserate. One of my favorite quotes is attributed to a writer friend of his is paraphrased thus:

“Most underrated thing in the world is an unambitious writer and a mediocre poem. There is not enough of either in the world. There is of course, the problem of sustenance.”

It was refreshing to reread this work after spending a year in college devoting myself to the “search for a clean, well-lighted place in the work of Ernest Hemingway.” Devoting may be too strong a word, but without the portugaises and crisp vinho verde, it was rough going at times.
The second book I just finished reading was Ewan McEwan’s Atonement, which takes place before and after World War II in England. After a slow start it had me in the gut, and does an excellent job of conveying the effects of the war on the people of England, and the soldiers in the trenches. Quite pertinent today even though the modus operandi has all changed. The unsuspected twist at the end had me upset for days.
Now I’m just starting “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, A year of food life” by Barbara Kingsolver, wherein her family lives off the food they grow or buy locally. I myself would love to try this experiment, but city living being what it is, i’m afraid that even with my amazing green thumb, the fruits of my container would not be able to sustain my little family of three. Perhaps if a Big Mac Attack counts as buying locally? ; )

Speaking of Big Mac Attacks, just road-tripped to a Dairy Queen in West Virginia, where a local country musicians get together for a bit of a jamboree. Look for new work soon. Would love to hear your literary inspirators. Do tell.

2 thoughts on “What’s on your nightstand?

  1. Am currently sluggin through angle of repose by wallace stegner. I know you are a fan of wally. the writing is dense but really good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

