Inspiration Boards

Oprah Winfrey keeps vision journals, but she didn’t start this trend ladies and gents. I’m only giving her credit for coining the term va-jj. Let that be her cross to bear, but I digress.

Elvis fan and talented midwest photog Kevin Miyazaki posted recently about a series of artist bulletin boards, a la Peter Beard’s journals. I myself keep a rotating bulletin board of inspiration. A small detail appears below.

bulletinboard.jpg

On it I keep notes from admired jurists, whom while perhaps misguidedly excluding me from some honor, are kind enough to send the coveted post-it- note of encouragement, “Nice work! Keep going!”

On the yellow ribbon you will see a souvenir from my once every decade excursion to a Chinese restaurant, where I received a fortune cookie whose fortune read “You will be awarded some great honor.” Perhaps I should step up my frequency to such restaurants because THAT SAME YEAR I received a yellow ribbon of merit from the Iowa State Fair for participating in the rubber chicken throwing contest. Coincidence?

Above the yellow ribbon is a cyanotype I made in school of my grandmother and uncle on the Jersey Shore in the 1950’s. The black and white photograph next to that is a Steichen portrait of Alice B. Toklas, lover to Gertrude Stein. To the left of this is a recent portrait I picked up in Cuzco of the Virgin of Lima. I wanted a replica of the Last Supper painted by artists of the Cuzco school which features Jesus eating a guinea pig, which was the way that the artists represented their culture in art commissioned/mandated by a largely absent Spanish Catholic hierarchy, but unfortunately, that work is not made in Cuzco today.

I often gaze at this collage of ephemera whilst performing some mundane chore on the computer and I tell you, it’s better than a shot of B-12.

Be inspired!

5 thoughts on “Inspiration Boards

  1. Hey… sorry for my english, where I can [b]download XRumer 5.0 Palladium FOR FREE[/b]??? Thanks!!!
    It’s perfect software for promo and SEO, but cant find any crack for it((
    cracked XRumer 2.9 and XRumer 3.0 are too old, Im need FRESH!

    Like

  2. Hello,

    What is the most reliable web hosting company?

    I’m need to set up a web site for my supervisor.

    thank you in advance,

    -Yolanda

    Like

  3. I saw that Casey Fronczek is offering fishing trips now down in south Florida. Does anybody have any input on these trips or has anyone been on one of these trips before?

    Like

Leave a Reply

