Shelter from the Rain

“One thing is certain. I stand in opposition to almost everything I have heard and seen by these men who would take me in and integrate, or obliterate me. I refuse to be seduced by their social blarney, their measured cities, their repetitious devices, or their invitation to compromise. Christ, I have spent much of my life fighting the assembly line! Why should I accept their comfortable prisons of convenience because they package them in ideology for sentimentalism and shower-bath plastics? All I ask is that they shelter me from the rain. I will take care of my soul.”

Clyfford Still, American painter, 1951

I love this quote. It so sustained me in grad school – where I felt increasingly at odds with my chosen milieu. Unfortunately, in the intervening years I have familiarized myself more and more with Mr. Still’s works, and I gotta say – I prefer his writing. Tough luck for me. Art is subjective. Take care of your souls.

Too Long at the Fair, McArthur, Ohio, 2004Too Long at the Fair, McArthur, Ohio, 2004

Leave a Reply

